AVID Pro 4896 With custom Beckhoff controls platform

Just wanted to share a little about my custom Avid build.

My day job is as a Controls Engineer programming and commissioning industrial automation equipment. I wanted a CNC for a side business and Avid fit the bill. I wanted to use my own custom controls platform because it was a fun project, it helped advance my controls skillsets, and allowed me to really customize the machine to fit my needs.

I bought the PRO 4896 set from Avid, then procured all the electrical components, wired them up, and programmed everything. Took me the better portion of 2 years (working on weekends and moved houses 3 times) but the end result was definitely worth it for me.

Mechanical Hardware :

Avid Pro 4896

Home built wooden base structure

Controls Hardware :

Dell optiplex 7020 ($150 used on eBay, quad core, SSD, etc)
Beckhoff EK1100 Bus coupler (connects hardware IO to the control PC)

Beckhoff EL7040 stepper motor control cards

Beckhoff EL6020 serial communication card (for controlling the VFD drive)

Beckhoff Nema 34 stepper motors

Beckhoff EP (for proximity sensors)

Invertek optidrive E3 3 HP VFD

Avid GMT 3HP spindle

Software :

TwinCAT 3 (for the real time motion controls platform)

TwinCAT HMI (For the user interface to control the machine)

Vcarve Pro

TwinCAT is a real time controls platform that includes functions for motion control, safety, standard control logic and IO, and an HMI all in one. It runs alongside windows, and uses EtherCAT (ethernet based) as its communication protocol. It is a very high performance controls platform and is used professionally in the industrial automation industry because of its reliability, adaptability, and high speed performance.