First time milling Aluminum on my AVID

I’m pretty excited about this! I’ve had my AVID PRO 4896 for almost 2 years and decided to try some aluminum plate 6061-T651 and I’m IMPRESSED. Here are 2 video links of me milling Aluminum. I’m going to also add 3 pictures to this message of a milled 1/2” plate with chamfered edges. 1 picture of cast iron milling as well. It cut like butter !

2 Likes

Not bad! What are you using for lube/coolant there?

1 Like

Awesome! Please keep sharing!!

These machines do really well at aluminum. This is something I did today on my Benchtop:

I made this the other day:

I used a tiny little 1/16th bit on the lettering, I should have run it faster.

IPA mist is the key

2 Likes

DISCLAIMER
I have ZERO experience milling metals or alloys! I basically purchased some HDPE boards with varying thicknesses and Flattened both sides the put a recess close to the edge like a cutting board that’s designed to catch juices. Then i used the painters tape on both sides and superglue to hold the aluminum down on the table. this is my first experience with Aluminum on a CNC.

Check out the second video. For cutting oil or lube or whatever I just collected some random stuff around my shop and mixed a little of this and that in a spray bottle then sprayed it on a cheap paint brush.

send me or post about your misting system, I need to get something myself

Right now I’m running a Lube Cube from SST tools:

The canister they ship them with is acrylic and cannot stand up to alcohol so I swapped it for one of these:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003VT7ERY

There are certainly cheaper ways to do this. An Amazon search of coolant misters will show you a whole bunch. At the end of the day blowing some chips off with air and keeping things lubricated with alcohol will help immensely.

Another quick aluminum task I did the other day: