ISO30 tool holder marks: is this normal?

I have no direct experience with ISO30 anything; mid-purchase of a used S30C spindle and tool holders, reported to have low hours. While inspecting the tool holders, all the tapers include markings- some kind of generally blotchy in bands near top and bottom, some with many longitudinal marks starting at the wide end of the tapper and fading out.

The spindle was used with aluminium pretty much exclusively; the tool holders and machine had fine bits of aluminium glitter most everywhere.

Are these markings normal? Obviously, the concern is runout and possible spindle damage. What do your tool holders look like after ~100 hours use? Images attached.

Wow! That’s a lot of wear/damage. Maybe from low drawbar tension causing slip. Possibly the air blast failed and contaminants(chips) entered during a tool change. Every time those gnarly bits were drawn into the taper, they’d likely be damaging the spindle taper. They should look like new at 100 hours and well beyond.

Replace the holders and closely inspect the spindle taper. You could be up for repairs. Does the rest of the machine look like low hours?

I used to have an S30 setup and after over a year of daily use my holders didn’t look like that.

I was cutting plastic and wood however (no metal) and I took great care to make sure my ATC system accurately grabbed the tools.

My non expert opinion is that this is a fair bit more used than 100 hours.

Check the inside of the taper on the spindle. If that looks good just get some new holders

I applied a soft chemise and denatured alcohol to the holders- see attached images for the results on the two holders previously pictured. The chemise came away with lots of (presumably) aluminium glitter; a finger nail ran over the surface can detect some of the marks, most with effort.

Can I bother folks to show me what their holder tapers look like after X hours of use?