Laser post-processor for Fusion 360?

I was given a diode laser for Christmas, and am slowly working on getting it up and running. I primarily use Fusion 360 for my CNC routing projects, but it looks like the Mach 4 post-processor doesn’t support laser. What are other Fusion 360 users doing? I’ll probably buy LightBurn too, but it would be nice to have the option of working in Fusion 360 for projects that combine routing and laser operations. Thanks for the advice!

Mach4 is Func compatible. Just download the Func post processors and port over what you need.

But my limited understanding is that is already there and you are needing to change profiles in Mach4 to output the control signals to the laser. So that would also be ESS configuration as well.

I can answer your post processor questions but how everyone has it set up in Mach4 and the ESS is something I haven’t found the desire to do yet.

Sorry, I’m a total noob with this kind of thing. What do you mean by “porting over what I need?” I tried googling “func post processor,” but it’s not really a SEO term; I didn’t find much.

I think I’m up and running on the ESS configuration. There’s pretty good documentation available there. I can successfully test fire the laser through Mach4.

Well, it would help if I spelled it correctly :rofl:

https://cam.autodesk.com/posts/post.php?name=fanuc

lol ok yes that makes way more sense!

Do you have any suggestions for resources discussing porting/customizing post-processors? I have zero experience with it, but it seems like it would be a very useful thing to know.