Learning to make non- symmetrical objects on rotary 4th axis

I would like to use my 4th axis rotary on my avid pro but have not found good information regarding the use of aspire or fusion 360. Any suggestions would be appreciated. In particular, I want to make gun stocks and other non round objects .

I use Fusion 360 for this all the time. You just need to modify your post processor to allow for it. The documentation is pretty good. I think I just searched for “add 4th axis fusion 360 post” when I was figuring it out.

1 Like

Thanks for the info. I’m just learning to use Fusion 360 and haven’t seen many tutorials using the 4th axis rotary features in fusion 360. I will do another search to see what I can find. I believe the options is an extra charge add on now.

For true 4 axis motion in F360 you will have to use 5 axis milling and inhibit one axis. When you do that things get really fun!

…and expensive :frowning:

Its pretty easy in Vcarve or Aspire, however, it is only 3 axis machining. You are diabling the Y or X axis and wrapping it around the 4th axis. This means that there are some shapes you can’t do completely (but you can combine rotary and flat toolpaths to get that done) because you can’t move the spindle off the axis of the rotary.

If you are doing rotary stuff infrequently, or you are basically making round objects that only need 3 axis work, I would use Vectric. If you are going to do it a lot or really need full 4 axis work (most gun stocks would fall into that category if you want to machine out the whole model), then it may be worth learning (and paying - 4 axis is not free in F360) to do it in F360 because it is more capable and is true 4 axis machining.

1 Like