ATC Adapter for AVID 4 by 2 Machine with 3HP GMT Air Cooled Spindle

I am toying with the idea of adding an Automatic Tool Changer to my Avid 4 by 2 machine. Since I am a hobbyist who typically does only 4 tool changes per project, I am considering adding an ATC Adapter to my existing air cooled 3 HP GMT spindle. I have read that it is not common to add the ATC Adapter to a fan cooled spindle.

My questions are:

1. Has anyone on the forum done this?

2. Results / experience?

3. Does the Adapter interfere with cooling?

4. How much air volume is used to change a tool, 4 or 5 tool changes?

5. I prefer to use a portable air tank and not hook up to my compressor, so how big an air tank would I need for 4 or 5 tool changes? 5 gallon tank? 10 gallon tank? Larger?

Having some facts / information based on your experiences would be very helpful.

Thanks!

Tim

Personally I would spend the money on a ATC capable spindle as the retrofits are always a compromise.

Butā€¦

Before we get there, letā€™s ask the real question;

How many runs a day do you do as a hobbyist?

ATC are expensive in more ways that you realize. They also make machining more complex.

Thanks for responding! I have watched several videos reviewing the process of installing and using an ATC Spindle so I think I know the complexity plus benefits / disadvantages. I am just trying to collect specific info about the four questions that I have not found enough information on to make a decision.

The cost of an ATC at around 4K is not worth the benefits I would get, but the cost of an Adapter for my current spindle would be around 1K and that gets it in the ā€˜consideration rangeā€™. Just need good info on those 4 questions.