Hey Guys! Got invited to this group and enjoying the discussions so far

Like others here, I’m new to this game. I’ve been practicing Optometry for 45 years and am slowing down my practice and going back to the wood shop. I came across one of those deals of a guy who had a cabinet shop who got sick ad had to shut down, he and his family decided to sell all his equipment, (quite reasonable priced) and I bought several new pieces, some I needed, some I just wanted, so I’m stocked up on table saws, jointers, planers, etc.; but I was missing something so I decided to go crazy and get me one of these new fangled CNC machines and try and have some fun with that.
I decided on Avid’s 4848 pro, 34 nema motors, 4HP spindle AND a rotator/indexer system (in case my son convinces me to start making gun stocks, forearms, etc.). I decided to use Fusion 360 as my CAD/CAM software based on advice from the family, and that has been my biggest challenge so far. Building the machine was fun and I thought easy, 5 or 6 evenings and a couple days work and there it was! Software, not so much! I feel like I’m slowly getting there, but… Biggest issue I’ve got is getting the machine to do what I thought I drew up in Fusion, but the toolpaths seem to be incomplete and it only cuts part of the “simple” project. Just trying to cut four slotted pockets and slotted grooves in the bottom of the pocket for screws to fasten 2x4’s to my aluminum crossmembers on my Avid to screw the spoil board down to. Cuts the pockets just fine, but no slots

Hey Eyedoc! Welcome to the forum!

Let me cut to the chase: Fusion is meant for metal machining and is NOT straightforward for routers.

Can you use it on routers? Absolutely. There is some powerful toolpathing in there. The trick I’ve found with it is learning that you need to ignore about 90% of the options you have in making toolpaths.