Where to START, as a NEWBIE

I don’t have a machine yet, and am saving up for one. I am not at all familiar with the software.

Before I acquire a machine, what is a great way for me to start learning how to operate a machine, from a software (apps) point of view? I do not currently know how to design a part, either.

Sketchup? Fusion360?

I intend to work in wood, metal, plastic and sheets like for stencils. Router, plasma, drag knife and laser.

The world of this is daunting to me, and I’d like to know where and how I can best enter this realm.

1 Like

Sketchup doesn’t do CAM (generate g-code for the cnc). Fusion360 or one of the Vectric products (like VCarve Pro or Aspire) would be what you are looking for (I am a newbie myself.)

Fusion360, I feel, is more oriented to the “whole project” (i.e. things like assembling a bookcase) whereas VCarve/Aspire is oriented to what you can do to something sitting on your CNC.

I personally have both Fusion360 and Aspire but that is a pretty hefty investment so that may not be something you can do/want to. They both have free demo/trials so you can see which one(s) you like.

1 Like

Stay away from Sketchup, it’s a waste of time from a machining perspective. I used to use it to design furniture but since I learned Fusion 360 I have never looked back.

You should get the trial copy of Vectric Aspire or VCarve. The vectric products are the fastest and easiest way to get into CNC routing.

Once you get the hang of the Vectric software (or at the same time…) try out Fusion 360. Definitely a much higher learning curve, but once you understand it, it really opens up a lot of design flexibility (easily resize designs, parts, etc.)

I use both Vectric Aspire and Fusion 360 now. I go with vectric for quick and dirty or simply 2D work and carving 3D models or most anything in wood. I use Fusion 360 if I am designing and assembly that has multiple parts or for anything aluminum.

2 Likes