Beginner Fusion 360 Question

My cad background is as follows. I learned to modify electrical schematics using autocad electrical many years ago, and it’s been 6 or 7 years since I did that. I wasn’t awesome at it, and I didn’t create well from scratch. I’ve never done anything 3D related except for open parts the engineering department where I work designed in solid works. I feel the first step for me is to learn fusion and be able to draw/model things. If you were advising someone like me, does that seem like a reasonable first step? What would you suggest (a particular book, course, or other online instruction). as far as learning to use the software? I’m willing to pay for useful instruction.
Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Glancing through the course list, I can see a few that look promising

I haven’t used these in particular, but I’ve found that Autodesk does create good training material in general.

2 Likes

As a beginner myself I started with the built-in training available from Autodesk. I then looked for specific training as I ran into questions or needs on YouTube.

2 Likes

The best way to learn fusion is via free tutorials on YouTube. Lars Anderson is great as well as Product Design Online. Both are free and require no money on your part. There are probably others as well.

1 Like

I echo all of the responses so far. Without specifics on the types of parts you intend to design (levels of complexity, etc) The three areas I would get familiar with are the F360 forum, their practice modules, and the various training session offered from a vast group of YouTube channels. The training modules are great for really good start. As you get more advanced, the Forum and YouTube videos will help you learn specialized skills. The F360 forum is very active and is a really great tool in particular.

2 Likes

I have been using F360 for so long they froze my price I pay to the 2015 subscription rates and I get all the Beta invites (like the new Web based version).