Interested in having an "Everything Lasers" Category?

Hi Everyone,

I just wanted to post here to see if there is support for an “Everything Lasers” category. I have been using Opt Lasers on my AVID 48x48 for a couple years, and have been helping people all around the world get their lasers working on AVID machines, so I know there are a lot of AVID laser users out there.

I keep up with all of the ESS plugin changes that have to do with laser support, and have a YouTube channel where I try to introduce the new features, as well as other CNC and woodworking topics. https://www.youtube.com/c/JNWoodworks

I also have a google drive with Mach4/ESS setup info, wiring diagrams, and post processors for laser setups on AVID. They are generally good for any laser models (even though I’m partial to Opt Lasers because I think they are the best diode lasers available).
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1xB6J0RZIU1j8g951NkP-8HXC1swC2C-B?usp=sharing

Jim Neeb

6 Likes

I’m up for it, as you seemed to be the only way for me to get info back when I got one on my 4896. This seems like a way everyone wouldn’t have to email you all their questions like I did.

We’re watching conversations really closely. When there’s a number of discussions that are around a particular topic we’ll move all of those posts into their own category.

One thing that would be really helpful is when you create a post “tag” it with something like “lasers” (you can edit this into your post later)

giphy

3 Likes

I am interested I have an Ortue 10 W running and atezr 20W in assembly .

Hi Eric,
Maybe I haven’t had enough coffee today, but I don’t see where I can add tags, only search for ones that exist already. Do tags have to be created by Admins? If so, please create a lasers tag and I will tag my post. If not, can you please instruct this slow person on the tag creation process? thanks.

2022-10-18_13-34-05 (1)

1 Like

Hi Eric,

Sorry for all the questions, but this tool is new to me.