Mach 4 G code loading

Hello All

As I’m a super newbie here I have tons of questions and need some help. I have only been using the new 48 Pro only a few times now. When I had my spoil board issues I set the machine up to do MM and V carve. No problems it worked fine. I was doing a small project design and did it in IN so I switched Mach 4 back to IN. I ran it and it all seemed fine. Today I was trying to make some hold downs and in V carve I did IN and mach 4 is still set on IN but when I ran the G code it came up MM on Mach 4 and did not notice it till it was half way through the file. I double check ventric and mach 4 they are both on imperial, I tried loaded other g code and when you very first up load it you can see MM on the X,Y,z axis then it quick switched to IN . What is going on? Please let me know what I need to do. Thanks

Are you sure you used the appropriate post-processor to write the g-code? It’s easy to just default to the last post-processor Vectric used without recognizing you are using different units.
I’ve forced myself to just use imperial units all the time. My machine coordinates are in imperial, I measure imperial, I design imperial, and I don’t even have a metric post processor set up. Somewhere along the line it’s easy to miss the switch and ruin something.

Hello. Is that on the tool path side of ventric ? What a screen is that under? Thanks for the reply.

I guess I did not know you had to choose either a metric or imperial on the processor. I thought it was just the avid one ?

It’s under Toolpaths, Save Toolpath. There can be a choice of different post processors.
I don’t use Mach 4, I use Centroid. If I used the Centroid Metric PP the output will be in mm.
There are inch and metric versions of Avid. Maybe a Mach 4 user will know if there is a difference.