Missing steps with a NEMA 23 setup

Hi all. I’m a newbie running a PRO4896 with the NEMA23 package. I’m having an issue losing steps on my longer cuts. I’ve searched the internet and found a couple of people having similar problems where the suggested solution was to adjust the feeds and speeds and/or cut depth so the bands on the stepper motors don’t slip, which, based on the brrrt my machine is making when it changes directions sounds like it might be exactly what I’m experiencing.

I’m cutting MDF with a .5" spiral upcut bit, .1 stepover at a depth of .15" so not very deep. Based on what I found the only things I can adjust are the feeds and speeds which is where I run into my problem.

I couldn’t find any feed and speed information for the NEMA 23 setup on the AVID site, so I had to go searching. Even on the internet all I could find was NEMA 34 info. Starting to feel like I’m the only one that’s ever bought a 23.

Anyway, I found a YouTuber that offered a Excel calculator so I’ve been using that. From what I found it seems that the chip load is the all important number. So, now the problem, to achieve the chip loads I’m getting from the calculator (.24 - .27 for a .5" bit in MDF) I have to run my machine full out (about 400 ipm) with my RPM’s set to the lowest possible for the 4hp motor (6000 rpm) which nets me a chip load of .25. So the machine won’t run faster and the spindle won’t run slower but I’m right in the chip load window so I figured I’m good.

Not so much… my best diagnosis (I’m still a newb so it may be wrong) is that the bands are slipping because the stepper motors aren’t dealing with running well at max speed.

I feel like I’m between a rock and a hard place. Are there different feeds and speeds for the NEMA 23 setup that I missed? That’s the only thing I can think where I might be off the target. But if there are then the chip load doesn’t make sense to me.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!