Smoke Extraction Hood for 15W Laser System! (deploys with laser when activated)

Hey Everyone!

I’ve been hanging out for a while but this is my first time posting. I just got the new laser upgrade from Avid and have been having a blast! One thing I noticed was that the smoke produced by the laser is pretty substantial, and my space was not the easiest to ventilate. I do a lot of engraving, so most of the smoke ends up on the top of the material.

To respond to this I whipped up a Smoke Extraction Hood! An image of it mounted to the pneumatic drop plate is provided below. (I’ll post other images and files in responses)

It is currently configured for a 4" spiral flexible dust hose, the common type that would be used for dust collection. The print is in two parts, the hood and the adapter ring, and you could theoretically update the adapter ring pretty easily to use a different diameter of hose if you like. I’m currently using a fan with a rating of 100 CFM, and it is working OK. Ideally I think 200-300CFM would be best.

Attached down below are the .STL files if you want to print it! I have the laser on the left side of my Z-axis, so if you have yours mounted on the right you would want to mirror it before printing. I printed it at a .15mm layer height because I wanted to avoid support material, and the material is CF reinforced Polypropylene. It prints with the hose-side down. If you want to modify it let me know and I can share the .STEP file somehow, I can’t attach it here due to file-type upload limits.

SEHmain.stl (7.5 MB)
SEHadpt.stl (208.3 KB)