Took the plunge at custom molding profiling

New to this forum :metal:

I’ve had my Avid 48x96 for about 3 years, making various projects on it when needed. Usually, it’s a flat surface in my garage where um… stuff… gets piled up on it :thinking:.

I’m a carpenter by trade, and most of the time, there’s not much need for this machine as my jobs consume a bunch of my time.

A very good long-time customer of mine wanted me to make him a small custom black walnut mantle for his den. The proportion he was looking for was not anything close to what I could buy, and to top it off, he wanted it to be his own design. I told him that his choices for a custom mantle would get quite expensive, but he insisted that he wanted it done and didn’t care about the cost :money_mouth_face::money_mouth_face:

So after he gave me a “napkin” drawing of how he wanted the “under the mantle crown mold” to look like I set out to clear and dust off my machine.

I’ve matched old (no longer in production) moldings on it before where I only needed less than 8’ to complete a job

but this was the first time making a custom, customer designed, off of a “napkin” drawing, molding on it.

This is the profile of the molding he agreed to in VCarve (sorry, I couldn’t find a pic of his napkin drawing).

Rendering of it

Finish product.

Short video uploaded to YT.

This was a nice change of pace for me and really enjoyed making this for him. He was more than pleased with the results.

Now if I could do this type of work on the regular I would only need to mak 2 a month :thinking::pray:.

5 Likes

Nice job man! That looks great. If you don’t mind my asking, what how big of step-over did you use between each pass and how long was the total run time?

ditto to the above - that’s an impressively smooth finish. Can you tell us what endmills you used as well?

IIRC my step over was .004, IPM 250, and RPM @ 22,000.