Tramming Program issues

Good Morning. I’m trying to run my tramming test program and I keep getting this message:

“Z axis commanded over SoftMin”

Has anybody experienced this? I’m new to CNC. I have an Avid Pro 4848.

Welcome to the forum, Steve.

I hope you don’t mind starting off by answering a few questions:

After you’re all set up to start, if you carefully jog down very close to the surface of your tramming test board, what Z value does Mach show in the work coordinates?

And in machine coordinates?

What Z is commanded in the G-code at line 22?

I believe if I’m reading it right, it shows 41.8907 in work coordinates and -5.6875 in machine

Line 22 reads G00 G43Z0.8000H1

I’m still very new to this. I hope I’m giving you the relight info.

Thanks for your help.

Is 41.8907 the Z value? It seems more appropriate for an X or Y value. It’s definitely out of range if it’s a Z value.

The -5.6875 value for the machine Z looks ok.

In the Offset tab (in the top panel), what is the G54 Z offset value?

In the Tool Change tab (in the bottom panel), if you click on the tool table button, are there any numbers that aren’t zero, especially for Tool #1?

Line 22 seems fine.

If it’s easy enough, it would help to see screenshots of the Offset tab and tool table.

This usually happens to me on X and Y when I have the start/stop location in VCarve Pro set to a coordinate outside the work area on the machine. So if I change the origin to X10 in Mach and run a program that goes to X45 it would be over the physical X limit of the machine. Maybe you have the Z safe travel height set too high in VCarve (assuming you are using VCarve)

Is it possible you have the wiring mixed up Double check it!!