Zeroing bit change (vcarve and mach 4)

Im new to CNC. in my project i used vcarve to set up using a 1/4 and 1/8 end mill bits. I loaded the project with cutting all 1/4 bits 1st. I set a tool change position. when it came time to change the the bit to the 1/8 i couldn’t get it to zero the z. Once the bit hit the block it stopped and nothing happed. i tryed to see if i put the 1/4 back in and zeroing z and nothing worked. to finish my project i deleted g code and uploaded only the 1/8 code. Everything worked and is cuting that bit now. what am i missing for bit changes?

thank you

joe

Export each tool size as an individual file.

put your 1/4 in and use your corner finder to set your z zero and find your starting point. Make sure.you set the end mill size in the probing menu for your endmill.

Run the tool path.

When the machine is done it will go back to it’s starting point and turn off.

Put in your 1/8 endmill and then run your z zero again. Do not run the edge finding portion though because you already have that set from the previous setup.

Run the 2nd tool path and it should work good.

So to zero in on your issue. Is your endmill coated in something that may prevent electrical conductivity between it and the touch plate?

In mach 4. The probe program will travel a max of 2 inches. So if your endmill was just outside the allowable travel distance it may have reached its stop point before touching the plate.

Check your dust collection hose. I have had mine trip the limit switch after probing and it’ll stop and go into a emergency stop state because it thinks the proximity switch has been hit.

Hope this helps.