Step-down cuts are on a different path?

Hi, hopefully I can explain what’s going on clear enough and someone can help me out. I’ve been using my Pro 4x8 for almost two years (as a hobbyist) with pretty decent success. Yesterday I started cutting out pieces for a workbench, the first pass seemed fine but when it stepped down to make the second pass it no longer cut on the same path. I stopped the file, salvaged what I could, set up a new g-code/tool path in fusion 360 and cut out some pieces individually with no problem. Later I cut out two larger pieces at the same time with no issue. This morning I went back and tried to cut four small pieces out and the same issue arose, second layer was off, and the third layer was off as well. I’ll try to upload some pictures to help explain.

I did something like this one time. My mistake was not paying attention to setting xyz I had entered the wrong diameter bit. Your issue might be different but looks like the one I had.

Determine if it is all happening on the same axis, also first thing I would do is drop my steppers and manually move the axis to see if there is any binding, during this process I would also check for anything that has come loose by first unplugging my spindle, then grabbed the collet and shaking it in every direction. It’s most likely mechanical. If you can’t find anything mechanical my next suspect would be stepper drivers.

Looks too consistent to be a mechanical error. But I am doing the 5 seconds eyeballing thing on a photo that I have no reference of what was the intended outcome.

Same file makes same mistake? Or does the same mistake happen sporadically, different files?

Thanks for the feedback Cliff. I thought it might be that as well but I double checked the bit size. Everything seems like it’s been entered correctly.

Thanks Erik, I have had the issue on the x and the y axis on two different setups.