Flying six strings

I wasn’t sure I was going to post this. Not because I don’t like how it turned out - I do. But because I don’t want anyone to get the idea I’m some sort of musician - I ain’t. Sure, I have 3 guitars, a MIDI keyboard, an electronic drum kit, some ‘hi-fi’ mixing monitors, a couple mic stands and some studio condenser microphones. If you went into my garage you might think I dig trenches for a living, too - I don’t do that either, despite the sheer number of shovels and pick-axes one might find. I’m sure I’m not alone by having a collection of rarely used tools centered around a similar purpose. Somebody back me up here…

I started designing a from-scratch wall mount to hang a gee-tar and get it off the floor. Really wasn’t looking for a complex project, decided not to machine my own actual gripping element. Sure, there are lots of cool ways and materials one could choose from. Maybe I’ll revisit that one day. The white acrylic was a test piece - I also cut a black piece - but I preferred this look in the room.

For this I purchased a fork style wall mount online and kept only the fork portion which has a threaded end and washer/nut. There’s a piece of 1/2" ply in the back, a 1"x1/8" piece of aluminum bar stock inset into that, then a piece of 1/8" walnut, then an acrylic inlay. The aluminum captures the fork nut and a single screw attaches through the aluminum and plywood into a wall stud. The acrylic piece is friction-fit on the fork shaft so it also holds the walnut in place. The 1/2" ply backer is the same shape scaled down about 40% giving a nice floating effect. Because the nut is captured, I can twist the fork off to access the mounting screw. Was all that planned out from the onset? Not telling!

Actually I’m just trying to bring balance back to the project section. @da-kengineer-meister posts all his big brain ideas therefore I limit myself to these sorts of nick-knacks. :wink:

2 Likes